Note: This is a repost of a post I did from one of my other blogs which I am in the process of moving to Micro.blog.

The camera was one of the things that drew me to the Pixel 3. It is simply fantastic.

Super-Res Zoom doesn’t seem to have gotten as much attention in reviews as Night Sight1 but it is still just as awesome as Night Sight. Super-Res Zoom uses the natural shakiness of the hand to fill in details that would normally be lost when using digital zoom.

Here are some pictures I took recently flying over Cuba en-route to Grand Cayman.

It is obvious which pictures2 are using Super-Res Zoom, but it is amazing to me that the pictures are as clear as they are. There is no pixelation as is common with digital zoom. They are not great pictures but they are usable pictures, which can’t always be said of digital zoom pictures.

Oh, I forgot to mention that the pictures were taken at 45,000ft!


  1. Which is amazing. ↩︎

  2. The third and fourth pictures. ↩︎