I’m torn about 1Password taking VC Funds. Part of me thinks it could be a good thing because it can ensure 1PW is around for a long time. The other part of me is very leery about it because now 1PW will focus on profit instead of service and lose their way, similar to Evernote and Dropbox.

I’ve got no desire to move away from 1Password, and don’t plan to move unless things start to change drastically in a negative way. That doesn’t mean I haven’t thought about alternatives though.

Bitwarden seems the most promising of alternative options I’ve looked at. It’s open source software, which I like, and reminds me if 1Password in the early days.

LastPass looks nice and I know people who use it, but I have always been slightly leery of using it because of their data breach a few year ago. I know they have corrected the issue and hopefully learned from it but it still concerns me.

Dashlane is pretty much a non-starter for me. All the adverts I see for it, tell me they are after pure profit more than offering a great product. They took VC funds and have turned into what I fear 1Password turning into. The fact Dashlane offers a VPN service in their premium subscription concerns me that they (like so many companies these days) are more focused on what data they can get from me instead of keeping my data secure.